Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Discovering an Orange Spray in Morocco

10 Comments

Some time ago, I had the opportunity to visit Morocco.  I was on a guided tour where we visited three different cities, Tangiers, Fes and Meknes.  It was a fascinating trip.  We saw everything from the very modern world to the old world.  We rode camels on the beach, ate traditional meals, and of course, bought hand woven rugs.

One of the many highlights of the trip was a local restaurant where we had lunch one day in Tangiers.

It was a traditional meal, complete with sweetened mint tea.  At the end of the meal, our hosts brought out a beautiful container of orange water.  They directed us to put out our hands in front of us, palms up, and and then sprayed us with the orange water!  After we got over the surprise, I quickly realized how refreshing it was.  Despite the heavy meal that we had just had in the middle of the day, the orange spritz was just the thing we needed leave there feeling refreshed and ready for the afternoon.  It was a great way to end a meal and frankly, I think every meal could be enhanced if it ended that way.

That meal was my inspiration to create my own sprays, to be used at my leisure and not just when I happened upon them in foreign countries.  Honestly, how hard could it be?

The good news is that it truly is very easy.  In fact, this was one of the first products I ever made.  The simplest spray consists of purified water, a scent, and some alcohol.  Scents can come from a variety of sources, including the the petals of a flower or essential oils.  Mix the ingredients together and let it sit for a few days.  It’s that easy. Compared to some of the sprays that you can buy in the store, the ingredients list of mine is short and sweet.

The first set of sprays that I made were scented rose, orange and lavender.  I found the rose spray was great for the morning, the orange spray was refreshing on a hot day or after the gym, and the lavender spray was perfect for the linens.

My personal favorite will always be the orange spray, or as I like to call it, my Citrus Mist.  It’s refreshing and of course, reminds me of the mystique of Morocco.

10 thoughts on “Discovering an Orange Spray in Morocco

  1. Hi
    My name is Jacqueline. I love your blog. Made me want to visit Morocco some day. I would love to speak with you. I am preparing to open a specialty boutique called The Natural Hair Care Cafe’. Would love to merchandise your creations. Please E-mail me and I will give you my business contact. (rafreekah@aol.com)

    • Thank you, Jacqueline. Morocco is a wonderful country to visit. I like the sounds of your natural hair cafe. I will email you soon. Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. Hey I love it when we can get inspiration from almost anywhere we go. I enjoyed reading this. It actually makes me want to add my own spray mists to my line. I’ve been doing the sprays for a while because I was tired of the commercial sprays.

    • I agree – If you pay attention, we are surrounded by inspirational things and experiences all the time! I love the sprays and they feel so clean when I make them myself. It’s definitely worth it to make your own!

  3. How easy is that? Can you divulge the ratios on what you use? Also, a quick thanks for the like on my blog post “The Beauty Inside the Tuscan Melon.”

    • The sprays are so easy to make! I’ve actually experimented quite a bit with the ratios, so I don’t have an exact formula to share. In a general sense, most of the spray should be a distilled water. I add a wee bit of alcohol to help preserve it. Finally, I’ve used everything from just a couple drops of essential oil to 10 or 20 drops, depending on the size of the batch I’m making. You can also use dried flower petals or orange and lemon peels to infuse your water with a certain scent. In all cases, make sure you let it sit for a few days so that the water can take on the scent. Have fun experimenting!

  4. The orange oil is so refreshing and energizing. I used to keep a bottle of it at work to use as an afternoon pick-me-up.

    • I love the scent of orange too! Actually, I find all of the citrus scents to be so refreshing and energizing. It’s a great idea to have it handy for the lull of the afternoons. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  5. Love this!!! Also a great idea to make your own essential oils that way you don’t have to buy them!!! Pretty easy to do and will save money in the long run!!! I think I will be making the spray with the rose essential oil I made!!!

    • That’s a great idea! Making your own sprays is one of the easiest ways to make something glamorous without breaking the bank. Please let me know how it goes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

