Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Working on a Lip Gloss

6 Comments

A couple of weeks ago, I went to a workshop dedicated to Mineral Makeup for Lips at Soap & More. (http://www.soapandmore.com)

As usual, the workshop was great.  It was hands-on and full of tips and tricks.  We made four different products and in doing so, experimented with lots of different materials.

The most fun lip product for me was the lip gloss.  We packaged the lip gloss in lip balm tubes with wand applicators.  Many of us chose to include a color in the mix to give it an extra pizzazz.  It was great!

Over the past week, I have been working on recreating the lip gloss, with a couple of my own alterations, of course.  My goal was to modify the recipe that I learned at the workshop into something a bit more liquidy.  As I suspected, this has a lot of do with the carrier oil and wax that you use.  Fortunately, after much experimenting, I’m proud to say that I’ve hit on the combination that suits my tastes.  The side benefit of having so many different combinations of ingredients is that I got to try out different colors and flavours in each tube.

6 thoughts on “Working on a Lip Gloss

  1. These are fabulous colours! I see that the purple one has less in it. Is that because it’s your favorite and you just can’t stop wearing it? 🙂

  2. These look great! And I agree with Sarah, the missing purple gloss is suspicious!

  3. Sarah and Megan – I’m glad you like the colors! I just bought more colorant the other day, so I’ll have more very soon! As for the purple…I DO quite like it. 😉

  4. Those look great. I’m working on making my own glosses as well but find mine to be too thick. Maybe it’s the beeswax

  5. Thanks for your comment, Chamallie! Figuring out the right amount of beeswax seems to be the most delicate part of the lip gloss! It’s so sensitive!

  6. Lip gloss was invented by Max Factor in 1930. He wanted to create a lip product that would make lips shiny and glossy for films.Factor created makeup for the movie industry. ‘,’**

    Warm regards http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/vitamin-d3-side-effects/

Leave a Reply

