Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Following up on my Goat’s Milk Melt & Pour Soap Experiment

Leave a comment

I’ve spent the last few weeks experimenting with the different Goat’s Milk Melt & Pour soaps that I made a few weeks ago.

I experimented with two different types of clay, Fuller’s Earth, and Activated Charcoal.

I was pretty skeptical about whether or not I would notice a difference between the different soaps.  Boy – I couldn’t have been more wrong!

My skin didn’t react all that well the Fuller’s Earth soap.  It felt great, but left my skin feeling a wee bit bumpy.  So, it’s probably not the best for me.

I really enjoyed the pink clay soap.  My skin reacted just fine to it.  It was the mildest soap that I made and as expected, I felt like it could use a bit more cleaning power than what was offered in the pink bar.

I just started testing the green clay soap this week.  Right away, I noticed that it was more foamy and thicker than the other soaps.  I definitely get the squeaky clean feeling after using it and my skin feels less oily at the end of the day.  I was pleasantly surprised by this one!

The final soap is the activated charcoal soap.  This definitely works well for me and leaves my skin feeling very clean.

Fortunately, I’m not the only one testing this batch of soaps that I made.  So far, my testers tell me:

– Love the pink soap – good texture and feels clean

– Love the Charcoal soap – it lasts longer in the shower and feels good on the skin.

Knowing that everyone’s skin is different and that it can change over time, the beauty of this experiment is that there is no wrong answer (unless a soap is simply terrible!)  I can’t wait to hear the other feedback so I can start modifying the recipe or making more of the same!

Leave a Reply

