Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

On the soap front…

2 Comments

I`ve been away from my blog for a little while, but it’s all been for a good cause!

I just finished seven bars of sandalwood charcoal soap for friends of mine.  After trying the four samples of different soaps I made a few weeks ago, they requested more charcoal.  That was officially my first sale!  Woo hoo!

That was the good news.

On the liquid soap front, I have now attempted to make it on two different occasions.  On the first try, despite following the recipe as closely as possible, I ended up with a grey sludge, as opposed to a lovely soap paste.  I suspect the sludge result was due in part to the types of oil I used.  Not to be discouraged, I tried again last weekend and had a wee bit of a mistake on the temperature.  I realized too late that the temperature had risen too high and watched the soap mixture erupt in the bowl.  It was both horrifying and fascinating at the same time.  Alas, I was not able to save it.  While unfortunate, both tries were good learning experiences and have made me more determined than ever to master the art of crafting liquid soap from scratch.

If you’re dying to try my soap bars, let me know and I’ll fix you up.

As for the liquid soap, I’ll have samples ready as soon as I make a decent batch

Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “On the soap front…

  1. We LOVE the soap we bought from you! I tried the larger bar this morning in the shower and it was heaven. We’ll never go back to commercially made soaps again.

    (Now, you’ve had not only your first sale, but also your first testimonial from a paying customer!) Keep up the great work. When you’re happy with your liquid soap, we’ll buy some of that, too.

    • That’s great to hear, Sarah! I’m so pleased that you’re enjoying the soap. Not only are you now using a product that you love, but it’s also better for your skin and the environment. Great to hear that you’re converted!

      I’m also pleased to hear about the liquid soap. I like it in the pump…have you tried that yet? As soon as I start making that all from scratch, you can do a comparison between the two!

      Thanks again for the great feedback and for being my first buyer!

Leave a Reply

