Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Apple Cider Vinegar

6 Comments

Apple Cider Vinegar is a staple in my household.  I have it in liquid and capsule forms.  My favorite brand is Bragg’s.  I travel with the capsules.  I incorporate a teaspoon of the vinegar into my diet each day.  I’ve even used it in my experiments with natural shampoos and conditioners.  I wouldn’t (and don’t) leave home without it.

My personal love for Apple Cider Vinegar

I’ll be honest, there’s not a whole lot of science behind the importance I place on Apple Cider Vinegar.  I’ve taken the capsules every time I started to feel sick in the last year or two.  Every time, I have avoided getting sick.  I attribute that to taking an increased dose of ACV.   Based on that experience, I add a splash of ACV to my protein shake that I have each morning.  Simply put, I’ve found it to be a great natural remedy for me.

 

Apple Cider Vinegar in Hair Care

Last year, I experimented with making my own natural shampoo and conditioner.  There are some who swear by a mixture of ACV water to use as a hair rinse.  I tried it and liked it.  However, I didn’t stick with it as I needed something a little more moisturizing for my dry hair.  As soon as I find the right moisturizer for me, I’ll give it another try.

Where does Apple Cider Vinegar come from?

Apple Cider Vinegar is a product of fermentation and is made from pulverized apples.  It is light yellow-brown color.  Many recommend apple cider vinegar over other types of vinegar.  This is, in part, due to the fact that ACV is higher in potassium than the other types of vinegar.  (Yet, if you’re looking for a source of potassium, there are far more potent sources than Apple Cider Vinegar!)   You can find it in health food stores.

Learn More!

Given the benefits I’ve seen with ACV, I’m intent on finding a use for ACV in my skin care products. Stay tuned!  In the meantime, you can learn more about Apple Cider Vinegar here.

6 thoughts on “Apple Cider Vinegar

  1. I love ACV! I use it for my hair once a week, that’s enough to wash away all the build up and make hair livelier 🙂 It also prevents heart burn and it’s simply a great remedy 🙂

  2. Not expecting the April sun to burn, I sat on a patio today without sunscreen. (Silly me…) I ended up with a bit of a sunburn. I applied ACV to a wash cloth and dabbed my face. It helped immensely. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

