Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Happy Shamrock Shake!

9 Comments

Have you ever tried a Shamrock Shake from McDonald’s?

It wasn’t until yesterday, the day before St. Patrick’s Day, that I finally tried one.  In fact, I had never really heard of the Shamrock Shake until a few years ago.

Childhood Memories of the Shamrock Shake

My husband tells me this story of how, when he was a kid, he used to see the commercials for the Shamrock Shake.  It looked delicious with its minty green colouring.  Unfortunately, he Shamrock Shakenever had enough pocket change to indulge in one.  Finally, one year around St. Patrick’s Day, he was able to scrounge up enough change to buy himself a Shamrock Shake.  And it was delicious.  Pure minty green, sugary, heaven.  Who could ask for more?  Unfortunately, due to poor sales, the shake was discontinued in the early 80s and it was no longer available.

He talks about the Shamrock Shake every once in a while.  It was brought back in 2008 and it must have sparked that childhood memory. 

Pure Indulgence

Shamrock ShakeThis year, I decided I had to try it.  If you have a sweet tooth like me, it’s truly a real treat.  It’s got that sweet mint flavor, grounded in vanilla.  It’s lovely.  Time is running out…if you’re fan of sweet treats, it’s worth a taste!

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

9 thoughts on “Happy Shamrock Shake!

  1. yummy! if only they have this in Malaysia!

  2. I don’t think we have these in The Netherlands but it looks delicious. I don’t go to McDonald’s very often so I wouldn’t know.

  3. Really? You like it? I think it tastes like a vanilla shake laced with mouthwash… and enough sugar to turn you diabetic with a single gulp. Truly, it was horrid. I’d try one of your home made renditions instead any day!

    • Sarah, the Shamrock Shake is one of the few store bought treats that I love, even though I know it is full of bad stuff. I definitely have to learn how to make this at home. When I do, you’ll be one of my first tasters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

