Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

My Favorite Beauty Foods

6 Comments

There are lots of ways to take great care of your skin.  In addition to using all-natural skin care products that are free from unnecessary chemicals, you can also do your skin a favour by eating the best foods for your skin.  Some of my favorite beauty  food are:

Dark, Leafy Greens

I’m a big fan of dark, leafy greens.  Dandelion greens, kale, and chard are all great examples.  These vegetables are high in fiber, full of vitamin C, and offer a high dose of antioxidants.   The Vitamin A in dark, leafy greens is great for clearing up acne and keeping your skin clear.

I either steam them lightly or I use them in a juice.  Either way, it’s a great idea to incorporate dark leafy greens in your diet.

Avocados

Avocados are full healthy fats.  They are a great snack, in small portions.  TheyAvocado and rasberries also go well in smoothies and soup.  I also love sharing a good bowl of guacamole.

Avocados are full of Vitamins A, C, E, and K.  One of the best things about avocados is that this fruit is also great when used in skin care!  Its moisturizing properties are great in a hair mask or a face mask.

Berries

Berries are full of antioxidants.  Try including strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, or acai berries into your daily regime.  I include a handful of strawberries in my morning smoothie.  Berries are touted as having anti-aging, anti-oxidant, and anti-inflammatory qualities.  Berries can also be used in skin care products for your face and skin.

Lemons

Lemons are an integral part of my daily routine.  I start my day with a cup of hot water with lemon juice.  As with avocados, lemons are also great in Salmonskin care.  Lemon juice can be used in shampoos, skin care.  Lemon juice can even be used in homemade household cleaning products.  Be sure to use fresh lemon juice!

Salmon

Salmon is a great source of protein and healthy fats.  This fish helps improve the production of collagen in your skin.  Eating fish once a week is a great way to get a good source of omega 3’s.  I’ve tried cooking salmon in a few different ways.  At the moment, my favorite is to bake it in the oven with a bit of coconut oil.

NutsNuts - Beauty food

Nuts are full of healthy fats, fiber, and protein. Their anti-inflammatory qualities help address inflammation and other skin disorders.  My favorite nuts to snack on are almonds, walnuts, cashews and pecans.  While I snack on nuts every day, I’m careful to limit that quantity to a handful throughout the day to ensure that I’m not overdoing it.

What are your favorite beauty foods?

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Beauty Foods

  1. I love all the above 🙂 Especially avocados, they are my favourite ingredient in salads or home made face masks 🙂 and also natural yoghurt! It’s great, because it’s so versatile, good for maintaining good bacteria in our bodies, it’s tasty and also wonderful for face & hair masks 🙂 It’s a great conditioner for the hair 🙂

  2. I love avocados and lemons…one of the best fruits ever…has so many uses 😉

  3. Pingback: Stock up on your antioxidants now! « Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

