Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Hot Lemon Water

9 Comments

My favorite way to start the morning is with a cup of hot water with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

Lemons have quickly become one of my favorite fruits.  I use them in my baking, I love to drink lemon flavoured drinks, and I also use lemons in my skin care.  Could you ask for more from a fruit?

What’s so good about lemons?

Frankly, the reasons are endless.  Here are a few:

Lemons are an antiseptic that helps deal with bad bacteria.

Lemons help prevent disease in the body and aid in cleansing the system of impurities.

Lemons help relieve things like heartburn, bloating, and excessive gas.

Lemon juice also helps keeps your digestive system regular, from end to end!

Lemons are high in Vitamin C.

Getting hot lemon water on the fly

I recently spent a couple of weeks away from home on a work trip.  My team met each morning in an Italian coffee shop before heading into the office.  While everyone was having a fancy Italian coffee, I would ask for a cup of hot water with a slice of lemon.  The first day, the staff was wonderful and produced exactly what I was looking for.  What a relief!

Unfortunately, I was only able to coax them into giving me hot lemon water one more time in that two-week period.  Most of the time, there were no lemons in the kitchen (I nearly fell over the first they told me that — how could you NOT have lemons on hand?!) The rest of the time, the staff was just totally confused at my request.  In fact, on the second day that I managed to get some lemon, the staff was about to give me the whole (last) lemon that he had in the kitchen.   Perhaps he thought I’d put the lemon in the cup and let it steep?

I never really thought a request for hot lemon water would be so confusing!  Fortunately, I’m back home now and I can make my own each morning, to my heart’s content.

Would you start your day with a cup of hot lemon water?

9 thoughts on “Hot Lemon Water

  1. Totally agree! Lots of benefits. Thanks to that little wonder drink, I managed to avoid any cold or flu in winter.

  2. Wow! That’s a great testimonial for lemon water! Thanks for the comment!

  3. I hear you girl…hot lemon water is a treasure 😉

  4. I put a pinch of cayenne pepper in my hot lemon water in the mornings…wakes me up and revs up my metabolism 🙂

  5. Pingback: I’ve been nominated for a Sunshine Award! « Au Naturel Essence

  6. Pingback: Natural Remedy for Swollen Gums « Au Naturel Essence

  7. Pingback: The Leibster Blog Award | Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

