Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

24 weeks and Counting

15 Comments

It’s been a while since I announced that my husband and I are expecting a baby.  Time is flying by and I thought it was time to give you all an update!

At 24 weeks…

This is me at 24 weeks.   That puts me at the end of my sixth month! I’ll be into my third trimester in no time!

Preparations

We’ve been working on baby’s nursery for some time now.  We’ve got a beautiful crib and change table, and most importantly, we picked out a car seat last week.  As far as essential gear, I think we’re set.

Taking Care of Baby’s Skin

I really want to be able to make any required skin care for Baby on my own.  My intuition tells me to keep it simple, avoid lots of scent, and to go slow.  So far, the reading I’ve done tells me the same.  In particular, most books warn against essential oils in any great quantity.  It’s important to use them in diluted form on adults and even more important for babies and their delicate skin.

Natural Baby Care

One of the books I’m reading is Natural Baby Care by Colleen Dodt.  She’s writes about the fact that baby’s identify with scent quite a bit when they’re small.  She suggests that it makes sense to create a scent in your home and on you that your baby will recognize readily.  Of course, it wouldn’t be a strong scent.  I love the idea and am thinking of something soothing, like lavender.

Just One More Trimester…

Our little bundle of joy is due at the end of November.  With any luck, everything will continue to go smoothly until then!

15 thoughts on “24 weeks and Counting

  1. Congrats! I predict a boy! Hugs!

  2. You look great! The next three months will seem to go by slowly, but soon enough babe will be here.

  3. Congratulations! Wow, November is close by 🙂 It’s great how you are preparing to make products for the baby yourself, as you do with most body products. I’ve enjoyed reading your recipes and ideas, which is why I’d like to nominate you for the Sunshine Award http://dutchwitch.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/sunshine-award/ Congratulations 🙂

  4. That’s a lovely picture of you 🙂 Seems like you ar ready 🙂 You look very happy 🙂

  5. You are an excited mum-to-be! Congrats! I had my second baby two months ago and I am still excited. Could you write a post on natural treatments for common baby skincare challenges? Thanks and good luck!

    • Thanks and congratulations to you on your new little one! I’ve been researching natural skin care treatments for babies for the past little while. Your request comes at a perfect time because I’m just about ready to start writing about what I’ve learned! Stay tuned!

  6. Beautiful pic of you! Congrats, again 🙂

  7. Looking great, Alia! I’m so excited for you! Keep up the great work too!

  8. Pingback: The Beautiful Blogger Award – I’ve been nominated! « Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

