Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Happy Thanksgiving!

11 Comments

Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s that lovely time of year again in Canada when we celebrate Thanksgiving.  For me, Thanksgiving signifies that the seasons are changing and that it’s time to give thanks for all the blessings in our lives.

The Origins of Canadian Thanksgiving

Wikipedia will tell you that Canadian Thanksgiving can be traced back to a couple of different originating dates.

Some trace the beginnings of this holiday back to the explorer Martin Frobisher.  He had been trying to find a northern passage to the Pacific Ocean.  After his third voyage, he held a formal ceremony to give thanks for surviving the long journey from England.  It was held near Baffin Island.

Others give credit for Canadian Thanksgiving to early French settlers who arrived in Canada with Samuel de Champlain in the early 17th century.  Their celebrations were tied to the end of the harvest season.

The actual date for the Thanksgiving celebration has varied over the years.  It wasn’t until 1957 that the Canadian Parliament designated the 2nd Monday of October as Thanksgiving Monday.

The Top Three Things I am Thankful For…

1.  I am thankful for all the support you’ve all given me for my blog!  My readership has gone up exponentially this year.  I first had a big jump in readership around March. Since then, the numbers have continued to increase.  I’ve also been nominated for three awards (Sunshine Award, Beautiful Blogger Award, and Inspiring Blog Award) and have had a chance to get to know many of you.  I love following your blogs and am honoured that you follow mine back!  Thank you!

2.  I am thankful for the miracle of being pregnant!  I’m in my 32nd week and looking forward to welcoming a new baby into our lives.  My husband and I are so excited to start this new chapter of our lives.

3.  I am thankful for all of the love and support from my friends and family.  They are always there for me when I need them.  I know that I’m lucky to be surrounded by such an awesome support network. Thank you!

Thanksgiving Dinner

My family always celebrates Thanksgiving with a big family dinner.  This year, I’ve put myself in charge of making dessert for everyone.  Even though the traditional dessert is a pumpkin pie, I decided to make use of all the apples and cranberries I have in my house and make an apple-cranberry crumble.  When it’s topped with ice cream, could you really ask for anything more?  Here it is!

Happy Thanksgiving!

11 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! I hope your dinner was enjoyable – ours is tomorrow night. Your crumble is making me hungry right now..

    • Happy Thanksgiving, Heidi. Our Thanksgiving dinner was delicious, as always. Even better, the cobbler was a nice, not-too-sweet way to end the meal. Enjoy yours tonight!

  2. I did not know that….. So thanksgiving is a little early for you???

  3. I just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy your blog so I nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. Check out my blog post for details. It’s a cool way to help spread the word about blogs you like and help them grow their readership! http://thenemeton.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/super-sweet-blogging-award/

    • Thank you so much for the nomination and for following me! I get a lot of satisfaction out of sharing my experiments and experiences on this blog and it’s wonderful to know that you think so too! Thank you!

    • Thanks! It was a great treat after a heavy dinner last night! The cranberries did a great job of balancing the sweetness of the crumble topping!

  4. Happy Canadian Thanksgiving! Looks like you had a nice dinner! Love your blog x

    • Thanks! Our Thanksgiving dinner was lovely and I was quite pleased with my apple-cranberry cobbler. It was a nice, light way to end a heavy meal! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

