Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Baby Skincare

8 Comments

Before my son was born, I made some baby balm and some special soap to use on his skin.  I did this with full knowledge that I had a 50% chance, at best, that they would be good for his skin.  After all, I had no idea what he would need!

Baby’s Bottom

While I was in the hospital, the nurses insisted that I use Vaseline on my son’s bottom.  I’m not a big fan of Vaseline whatsoever, but I had no other option

Unscented Baby Balm

Unscented Baby Balm

while I was in the hospital.   The Vaseline was great at creating a barrier between his dirty diapers and his sensitive skin.

As soon as I got home, I started using my homemade baby balm.  It worked exactly the same as the Vaseline.  The benefit of the baby balm is that it is made from a few oils and some beeswax, but no petroleum products!

I have continued using the Baby Balm at every diaper change since we got home!

Baby Skincare

Coconut Oil in HandWe live in a fairly dry climate, so I wasn’t surprised when my son’s skin was a bit dry.  To moisturize his skin, I give him a massage with coconut oil each day. The oil works great on his skin.  It is moisturized without being oily.

Soap in the Bath

I received many differing opinions about how often to bath my baby and what DSC_0206kind of soap to use.  In the end, I decided to give him a bath each morning, using the mild soap that I made before he was born.  It’s a goat’s milk soap with no scent or additives.  It is gentle enough on his skin that I don’t mind using it each morning in the bath.

What’s Next?

I’m looking forward to concocting some more baby products, using some essential oils, once my son gets a bit older.  I’ll be sure to post about those when that time comes!

8 thoughts on “Baby Skincare

  1. It’s wonderful to use homemade products knowing what in them. I have been reading to make a few basics as well. First on my list is a moisturizer. Good luck with your new concoctions!

  2. Awesome!! I am allergic to mineral oil so I can’t use baby oil or anything containing that. I love that you made all of these things for your baby and he will appreciate that later in life too!

  3. I avoid Vaseline too! Glad you switched to natural products for your baby, nothing better than a home made treat for a delicate skin! 🙂

  4. I have a new niece on the way that I’ll have to make some balm for. I make some Vicks substitute that I could use, just minus the essential oils. It has coconut oil, olive oil and beeswax. Is that what yours is made with? Oops, just saw your link – I’ll go and look.

Leave a Reply

