Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

12 Comments

Are you a fan of peanut butter?  If so, check out this recipe!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

It is one of my new favorite recipes.  These peanut butter oatmeal cookies are a great way to indulge in some peanut butter without accidentally gorging and eating several spoonfuls at a time (not that I’ve EVER been known to do that!)  Even better, these don’t pack a lot of calories!

Ingredients

3/4 cups white flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

4 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy…your choice!)

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups oats (not the instant kind)

1/2 cup raisins

1 apple, peeled, cored and chopped

Method

Mix up the first 4 ingredients in a bowl (flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon)

Mix the peanut butter, butter, and sugars in a separate bowl with an electric mixer.  Mix until fluffy.

Add the egg and vanilla to the butter mixture.

Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined

Stir in  the oats, raisins and apples

Drop the dough onto an ungreased pan.  Here’s a shot of my cookies before they went into the oven.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies - unbaked

I made these into little balls and I got about 40 cookies in total.  Bake them at 325 F for 12-15 minutes and cool on a wire rack.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

I am so happy to have stumbled upon this recipe. I hope you’ll give these a try sometime.  Enjoy!

This post is part of the GiG Spotlight #4: Come Bake With Me.  Thanks to Angela of The Charmed Cupcake and Jessica of Jessiker Bakes for hosting this wonderful event.  Are you wondering what GiG is?  It’s the Girls Inspired Group.  Click on the image below to check out their blog and join!

gigspotlight1

12 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

  1. They look deliciocous! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
    Natalia

  2. I think the bits of apples would make this famous cookie even better. I am going to try this also! Thanks

  3. I can just about smell those cookies! I wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for two awards! Click on the link:
    http://salmonfishingqueen.wordpress.com/2013/03/16/and-the-winner-is/ Congratulations!

  4. YUM! Pinning these!

  5. Great recipe! I omitted the raisins in favor of 60% chocolate chips. Because I love chocolate and peanut butter. I also adlibbed on when to add the SUGAR…you might want to include that in your recipe instructions. I will try this as a bar cookie next time, since the batter is on the dry side. But I loved the apple….really makes the finished
    texture perfect!

Leave a Reply

