Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Scented Baby Balm

10 Comments

I have really enjoyed making my own skincare products for my son.  I feel so much better knowing exactly what I’m putting on his skin.  Now that he’s older than three months, I decided to make him some new baby balm, using an essential oil.

Safe Essential Oils for Babies

It’s best to use essential oils in moderation at all times.  Ideally, they should be diluted and when used directly, they should be used sparingly.  The same applies to babies, especially since they tend to have such sensitive skin.

The two essential oils that seem to be considered safe, in moderation, for babies are lavender and chamomile.  My main source of information has been Colleen Dodt’s book,  Natural Baby Care.

Even with these oils being considered safe, I chose to use a very limited amount in his new batch of baby balm, just to be on the safe side.

Lavender

I chose to go with the Lavender essential oil.  It has such a soothing scent.  That’s exactly what I need during those midnight diaper changes!

Lavender Baby Balm

Lavender Baby Balm

10 thoughts on “Scented Baby Balm

  1. Love the new look of your blog!
    Glad you make your own products, the best your to protect your baby too. I wish I had discovered it earlier, but … it’s never too late 🙂
    Natalia

    • Thanks for the feedback on my blog! I’m really enjoying the brighter theme!
      So far, my baby has reacted really well to all of my homemade products. I’m so thankful for that! 🙂

  2. Not sure there is such a thing as a soothing middle of the night diaper change, but the lavender balm sounds nice.

  3. I can’t believe he is over 3 months old already!

  4. Great idea! Lavender is very soothing so thats great for babies!

  5. Love the new look! I think I need some of that balm too 🙂

Leave a Reply

