Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Guest Post: A Switch to Natural Living

Leave a comment

Please welcome Katie Moore to my blog!  Katie and I have a few things in common these days.  We’re both mommies and we’re both Buttonvery interested in clean living.  Katie graciously agreed to write a guest post for my blog!  Thank you, Katie!!  

Please keep reading to learn more about Katie’s switch to natural living.  If you like what you see, (and I’m sure that you will!) check out Katie’s blog at Moore From Katie. 

I Switched to a Natural Lifestyle During Pregnancy

Although most women strive to live a healthy lifestyle, there is just something about pregnancy that gives natural living added importance. It was during my first pregnancy that I realized the choices I made had a significant impact upon the health of my unborn child. Suddenly, how I ate and lived was no longer just about me; I knew that my baby depended upon me to maintain a healthy body that would stimulate his development. While I knew that I had to make some changes, I also knew that they would have to be easy to incorporate and inexpensive enough to make them a regular part of my fast-paced life. Here, are a few of the changes I made to live a more natural lifestyle throughout my pregnancy.

Relaxation and Exercise
When I first became pregnant, I had no idea how hard it would be to get exercise. Morning sickness took its toll and made me feel less like doing my daily workout. When I mentioned this to a friend, she suggested that I change my normal workout to one that is geared toward promoting both relaxation and physical health. In response to her advice, I visited a prenatal yoga class. Not only was this form of exercise easier on my changing body, but it also provided me with an exercise option that can be done anywhere. Even now that my son is born, I still enjoy practicing yoga outdoors for the natural relaxation benefits it provides.

Personal Hygiene and Skin Care
As I began to explore the benefits of natural living, I was surprised to discover that many of my skin care products were no longer safe during my pregnancy. As a devotee to anti-aging products, I knew I would have to find a healthier alternative to my current personal hygiene regime. After exploring the various products that were available, I was surprised to discover that skin care products with natural ingredients were just as effective as the expensive creams I already owned. Since I made the switch to natural beauty products, I have never looked back as my skin now glows just as bright as it did throughout my pregnancy!

Switching to a natural lifestyle during my pregnancy was one of the best things I have ever done for myself as well as my family. In addition to health eating and exercise, I am now more aware of the chemicals that I once used in everyday products. Now, my family and I enjoy living a life that is based upon natural living that helps ensure both our physical and mental well-being.  As with anything, double check with your doctor before making any changes.  My doctor was able to help me with many baby related topics, including cord blood banking, burping, delivery options and more!

Katie Moore has written and submitted this article. Katie is an active blogger who discusses the topics of, motherhood, children, fitness, health and all other things Mommy. She enjoys writing, blogging, and meeting new people! To connect with Katie contact her via her blog, Moore From Katie or her twitter, @moorekm26

Leave a Reply

