Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Tres Leches

32 Comments

I decided to treat my husband to one of his favorite desserts, a Tres Leches cake, this weekend.  It’s a delicious cake that is a standard in many latin american countries.  It was such a great treat!

The name of the cake describes it best.  It is made of three different types of milk.  I used evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk and 2% milk.  I’ve made this once or twice before.  However, do you think I could find the recipe that I’ve used in the past?  Of course not!  So, I made this cake with a recipe from the Food Network, from the Emeril Live show.  You can find it by clicking here.  I was pretty good about following the recipe, with a couple of minor exceptions.  Here’s what I did.  I’m definitely keeping this one handy because I know I’ll be making it again!

IngredientsTres Leches Cake

Cake

6 large eggs, separated
2 cups granulated sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup 2% milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cream topping

1 14-ounce can evaporated milk
300 mL sweetened condensed milk
1 cup heavy cream

Icing

3 tablespoons water
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3 large egg whites
1 tsp of orange rind

Method

Cake

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease and flour a 9 by 13-inch baking dish.

Beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. Add the sugar gradually with the mixer running until stiff peaks form. Add the egg yolks 1 at a time, beating well after the addition of each.

Sift together the flour and baking powder and add to the egg mixture, alternating with the milk. (Do this quickly so the batter does not lose volume.) Add the vanilla. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish.  Bake until golden, about 25 minutes.

Cream Topping

In a blender, combine the evaporated milk, condensed milk, and heavy cream and blend.

Remove the cake from the oven and while still warm, pour the cream mixture over it.  I spooned the milk mixture over the cake, allowing it time to sink in. Let sit and cool to room temperature. Cover and refrigerate until well chilled, at least 4 hours or overnight.

Icing

Combine the water and sugar in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and stir to dissolve the sugar. Stir in the orange rind.  Cook until the mixture reaches the soft ball stage, 235 to 240 degrees F. Remove from the heat. In a medium bowl, beat the egg whites to soft peaks. While beating, add the hot syrup in a stream. Beat until all the syrup has been added, the mixture cools, and a glossy icing forms.

Remove the cake from the refrigerator and spread the icing evenly across the top.  This made 12 generous servings.

Many recipes call for fruit slices to garnish the cake.  Personally, I thought they might interfere with the milky taste, so I skipped the fruit.  Instead, I added some orange rind to give the cake a citrus flavour.  My hubby loves oranges, so he really appreciated it! Your cake will be soft, milky, sweet and delicious.  It’s rich, so make sure that you don’t try to eat it all at once!  Enjoy!

Tres Leches

32 thoughts on “Tres Leches

  1. My middle sons favorite! I add a little Kahlua to the mile mixture, just a little 🙂 Def. gonna try your recipe!

  2. This looks DELICIOUS! Can’t wait to try to recreate this recipe, thanks for sharing!

  3. Mouth watering! This made me want to forget diet 😀

  4. Look Deliciousoo,…
    gig
    gitalockwood.blogspot.com

  5. OMG, it looks divine!!

  6. Looks yummy! Thanks for sharing!!

  7. I love Tres Leches, especially the ones with fruit in them!!

  8. yummy now I am craving a Tres Leche that my favorite desert love it love it 🙂

    thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

    Leslie xoxo
    Bravenezz.com

  9. Yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I’d definitely try that one out on my free time =)

  10. I love tres leches!!! I always make tres leches cupcakes…so yummy!
    #gig

    xoxo

    novelstyle.blogspot.com

  11. Mmmm! That looks so good! I need to try it sometime!

    xoxo
    Bethany
    The Style Hippie

  12. Oh my, this looks incredibly delicious! I’m so hungry now!

  13. Baking is my passion and I always in search of new recipes to try them out.. It looks scrumptious, def gonna give it a go ❤ GIG xoxox

  14. How can you say no to such a delicious looking cake? 🙂 #GIG

  15. Yum! I love tres leches cake. I have an awesome Mexican bakery near my home that sells slices of this cake for really cheap, so I never have to make it at home. Your cake looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

