Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Perricone Products Review – Part I

43 Comments

A few years ago, I discovered Dr. Perricone and his line of beauty products.  I started using them and fell in love instantly.

Then, I started making my own skincare products and set the Dr. Perricone stash aside for a bit.  I found my stash a couple of weeks ago and realized that I still have some great products to use up!  Woo hoo!

Here’s what I have left:

Gentle Cleanser
Face Finishing Moisturizer
More than Moisture SPF 30
Advanced Face Firming Activator
Neuropeptide Deep Wrinkle Serum
Advanced Eye Area Therapy

My Perricone Stash

My Perricone Stash

First Steps

I started back into this line with the Gentle Cleanser.  It’s a nice thick cleansing liquid and it’s light green in colour.  It feels pretty smooth on my skin.  I use about half a pump each morning and each night.  Even though I don’t use a lot at a time, I find that I have to work at rinsing it off my skin.  It’s got some sticking power!  A bit of rinsing and rubbing on my face will usually do the trick.

After using it for a few weeks, I’ve found it is strong enough to clean my skin, but not so overpowering that it strips my skin of all of its natural oils.  I don’t like the “squeaky clean” feeling on my face that some soaps and cleanser can give you.

I have always loved the packaging of the Perricone line.  I love the dark glass bottles.  The cleanser comes with a bottle cap and a pump, so that it’s both easy to travel with and to use every day.

Dr. Perricone Gentle Cleanser

Dr. Perricone Gentle Cleanser

How do Dr. Perricone products rate?

The first thing that I love about Dr. Perricone products is that they are paraben free.  Each package is clearly marked that the product does not contain any parabens.  I also looked up Dr. Perricone products on both the Good Guide and the Skin Deep sites. Please note that on both sites, the ratings are based on a limited amount of information for this brand!

Good Guide Ratings

On average, Dr. Perricone products have a received a 5.1/10 Health rating from the Good Guide.   However, when I looked up these specific products, I found that most of them received a rating of 7 or 8 for Health.  The one outlier that I found was the Face Finishing Moisturizer.  It received a 5.0 on Health, listing ingredients that cause a low level of concern.  Thankfully, the other products with the lowest ratings that pull the average Health rating down are not ones in my cupboard!

Skin Deep Ratings

On the Skin Deep site, there were three Dr. Perricone products listed that I was able to find.  On a 10 point scale, they received ratings of 3 and 4, which places them in the Moderate category.  Many of the ingredients that cause concern do so because they have associated with allergies and immunotoxicity.

Overall, I’m satisfied that the Perricone products that I have in my cupboard are safe enough to use on my skin.

Moisturizers and Serums

I’m looking forward to delving into the moisturizers and serums.  I’ll be sure to post my reviews once I’ve had a chance to try them each for a few weeks!  Stay tuned!

Perricone Moisturizers Perricone Serums

43 thoughts on “Perricone Products Review – Part I

  1. wow these sound nice. I haven’t tried any perricone, but a lot of people swear by their new Apple line or whichever haha. Thanks for the post! ♥

  2. Ha ha — I haven’t tried their newest stuff since I’m still going through my old stash! There are definitely a few products that feel good on the skin!

  3. Great post, thanks for sharing 🙂
    #GIG
    Becky xo
    http://www.pixiwishesforeheadkisses.com

  4. I adore Dr. Perricone – I’ve loved every product I’ve tried! ❤

  5. Thanks for sharing this =) Would love to give these products a try .

  6. I never heard of this brand but it sounds quite good! (:

    #GIG

  7. This brand sounds interesting. Well, you know me Alia, always on the lookout for the next best skincare out there hehe. You know I still want to try the soaps you make, are you selling them on Etsy now or still within your country only? xx

    • Always good to get a good nudge, Donah! I actually just made my first Etsy purchase the other day. It reminded how much I need to start selling my stuff! You know I totally appreciate your patience and I’ll be sure to let you know when I make the leap!

  8. Ohh, I had a travel size version of the Perricone gentle cleanser and I really loved it. It is quite thick, but it didn’t really ‘stick’ to my face like you said and was very easy to rinse off. I loved it!

  9. I love the dark glass packaging, too! I haven’t tried this brand yet myself

  10. these sound nice.. would love to try these out if I can get my hands on them.. thanks for the info!
    ❤ #GIG

  11. Haven’t tried this yet, but would love to give this a try 🙂

  12. never heard bout it. post with what’s inside too.. and before after could help 🙂

  13. oh I didn’t know about this brand! it looks promising, like a secret beauty treatment, or one of those products they are in spas without label hahahah
    love your handmade soaps by the way!!
    big hugs ❤

  14. You did a great review! I always like “no fancy” packaging on skin care products! x

  15. looking forward for the follow ups for your review! XD

    – from gig
    http://www.swirlsandscribbles.com

  16. The packaging is just the way I like. Clean and minimalistic. I would love having them on the bathroom shelf.

  17. such a great line! my mom uses it and has given her great results!
    xo,
    Dee http://HauteFrugalista.com

  18. haven’t tried this line, but i have heard great things about!!

  19. I never heard this brand or event try but you make me want to try it!
    Thanks

    GIG
    http://julisapratiwi.blogspot.com/

  20. Pingback: Perricone Product Review – Part II | Au Naturel Essence

  21. I never heard of this brand but it surely sounds good. Thank you for sharing this amazing post! xoxo 🙂

  22. Pingback: Perricone Product Review – Part III | Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

