Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Ooey Gooey Brownies

30 Comments

A few weeks ago, we had dinner with some good friends.  We brought dinner and they supplied dessert.  My friend made a delicious pan of brownies.  Had I known that she had made brownies, I would have skipped dinner and headed straight for the good stuff!

I know brownies are pretty easy to make, but mine always turn out a bit dry.  That is, until now!  The brownies my friend made were really moist and chocolatey.  After I told her at least fifty times how much I enjoyed them, she took pity on me and sent me the recipe.  Here it is:

Bittersweet One Pot Brownies

From Jeanne Kelley

IngredientsOne-Pot Bittersweet Brownies

  • 8-10 oz. dark, bittersweet or semisweet chocolate (about 54 to 60%percent cacao), coarsely chopped
  • ¼ lb and 2 Tbs. unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 cup toasted walnuts or pecans, chopped (optional)

Directions

Step 1
Preheat oven to 350ºF. Butter 9×9-inch metal pan. In large, heavy saucepan, melt chocolate and butter, over low heat, stirring frequently, until melted and smooth. Cool slightly; stir in sugar.

Step 2
Whisk in eggs, vanilla and salt. Stir in flour. Add nuts (if desired) and transfer batter to prepared pan. Bake about 20 to 25 minutes, until a tester inserted near the center of the brownies comes out with a few moist crumbs attached. Cool completely. (Can be prepared 2 days ahead. Cover with foil.)

Step 3
Cut into squares and serve.  Yields 3 dozen small servings (or 9 big brownies).

I followed this recipe to a tee when I made it.  I used 8 oz of chocolate in total. They came out a bit sweet, so next time, I would reduce the sugar by a 1/4 cup.  I’ve served these brownies to a number of different friends and they all love them as much as I do.  This recipe is a keeper!  Enjoy!

One-Pot Bittersweet Brownies

30 thoughts on “Ooey Gooey Brownies

  1. What do you suppose it is about brownies? They are one of the most perfect comfort foods ever. Even your picture makes me drool. I’, definitely going to try out this recipe! Thank you for the recipe and the drools! 🙂

    • Truly — there is something about brownies that make them irresistible! Hope you enjoy the recipe!

      • Got the ingredients Alia, I’m making them today! 🙂

      • How did the brownies turn out? I just made another batch today. I was short on chocolate, so I added some chocolate chips to make up the difference. I also used a bit less sugar and they still turned out to be a great sweet indulgence!

  2. Absolutely delicious, thank you so much Alia. A great recipe, I’ve added it to my “special” recipe book! The sad news, they didn’t last long, lol – using the chocolate chips to make up the difference, a great idea! 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh!!! These look amazing!!

  4. Oh my yum! I can’t wait to give this recipe a try, sounds delicious. ❤

  5. oh my goodness, this post made my mouth water!! ^.^ now i want some brownies and milk

  6. OMG, thanks for sharing! I need some brownies in my life right now!!!

  7. *drool – oh Alia, I want these brownies! I love the gooey ones.

  8. OMG.. I want to have brownies NOW!!! *Drooling
    I am so going to make this!!!!!

  9. Brownies are just heavenly and dangerously delicious 😉

  10. I want to try it right now…yummy. 🙂

    Style Without Limits
    Facebook

  11. the brownies looks scrumptious! XD tell your friend thanks for the recipe..

    – from gig
    http://www.swirlsandscribbles.com

  12. I’ve always had a thing for brownies. Specially for the gooey ones.. Ohhh they’re so delicious and yum! Your post is already making me salivate.. If only I could cook. Great recipe. I think I’ll ask mum to make me these LOL. 😀

  13. These look so amazing! I’m having to work hard to resist making them right now but feel like I shouldn’t because I just worked out! 😛 haha

    http://veggiesandglitter.com

  14. Pingback: Black Bean Brownies | Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

