Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Perricone Product Review – Part II

45 Comments

This is the Part II of my three part review of my Perricone skin care products. Check out the first part, and the contents of my Perricone stash, here.

For this part of the review, I’m going to focus on the three moisturizers I have in my stash of Dr. Perricone products.  As you see below, I have three items:  More Than Moisture SPF 30, Face Finishing Moisturizer, and the Advanced Face Firming Activator.  I have been using all three for the past few weeks.  Check out my thoughts on each one below.

Perricone Moisturizers

More Than Moisture SPF 30

First of all, the scent in this cream is heavenly.  Every time I use it, I detect hints of cocoa butter and orange.   It smells really rich!  Perhaps that contributes to my feeling that it’s also a bit of a heavier cream.  It’s not greasy on my skin, but definitely feels like a thicker moisturizer.

I have used this cream every time I’ve gone out for a walk.  It does a good job of protecting my skin from the sun.   It’s lovely to have a cream that acts like a sunscreen, but doesn’t smell too strong or feel heavy on my skin.

Face Finishing Moisturizer

This cream comes in a jar with a little spatula.  The cream is more gelatinous and a bit thicker than the other moisturizers.  I guess that’s why the spatula is included.

The moisturizer felt the thickest out of the three that I tried.  It also provided the most moisture out of all of them.

This cream has a floral scent.  Fortunately, it’s not overpowering.  While I’m not usually a fan of floral scents, I quite like this one, probably because it’s not that strong.

Advanced Face Firming Activator

This is the one cream that I had used before.   As soon as I opened it, the scent brought me right back to the time when I was first introduced to this cream.  It was such a memorable time that I’d like to digress slightly here and tell you about it.

A short side story…

Remember the 2010 Winter Olympics?  Well, I was there!  For real!  I was one of fifty people that my company sponsored to volunteer at the Olympics.  I worked with a group of people in the head office.  Our job was basically to help people keep motivated, especially those in the head office who didn’t get a chance to be at the events.  It may not sound like much, but it was a great job.  The easiest way to motivate people was to give out free tickets.  We handed out lots and my team also attended lots of events.

Here’s a photo from one of my first days on the job!

Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics

Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics

Back to the Advanced Firming Face Activator

I was saying…the scent brings me right back to the first time I used it.  Similar to the SPF cream, I smell a bit of cocoa and a bit of citrus.  It’s a light, refreshing scent. (and to me, smells of the Vancouver Olympics!)

This cream is the lightest of the three.  It moisturizes well, without feeling heavy on the skin.

Which One Do I Like Best?

Well, it depends!  I really like each of these creams.  They all serve a different purpose for my skin.

I like using the SPF when I’m going to be outside.  It does a great job as a sunscreen.

I love the Advanced Firming Face Activator for the morning.  It’s light and moisturizing.

Finally, I really enjoy using the Face Finishing Moisturizer at night time.  It’s thick and moisturizing and is perfect for overnight rejuvenation.

Having said all of that, if push came to shove and I was forced to choose just one, I would go with the Advanced Firming Face Activator.  Not only does it remind me of my Olympic adventure, it also does a great job of moisturizing all day long.

Have you tried any of these moisturizers?  If you have, let me know what you think of them!  For those of you who want to learn more about these moisturizers, or see the ingredient list, check out the Dr. Perricone website here.

45 thoughts on “Perricone Product Review – Part II

  1. I’ve been doing some research on Perricone MD products….but the price range is way above what I usually willing to spend…but I can wiggle some room for Perricone if its really worth it…I am only 24 and do you think they are suitable the most for a woman in their mid 20s and could get the maximum benefit of Perricone MD products?

    • You’re right about the price…they aren’t cheap! I think it would be best for you to test a sample before spending a lot of money on them. I really like the ones that I have, but there are also lots of other great product lines out there that might be more affordable. On the other hand, there are usually some good promotions and sales through the Perricone website… (That’s how I ended up with such a great stash!)

  2. great reviews! Will need to check these out ♥

  3. I love love love Perricone MD products! I’ll have to try your new recommendations. ❤

  4. Good to know about the sales and promotions… I am also in my mid-twenties and am a little reluctant to shell out a lot of $$ for skin products, but your review is making me consider it! 🙂

    http://veggiesandglitter.com

    • Yeah — unfortunately, these products aren’t cheap. On the other hand, the website promos can make a purchase worth it sometimes! Good luck!

  5. I may need to check out some of these moisturizers… I keep sampling so many and never find quite the right fit… or my skin changes again and I have to switch it up!

  6. These are excellent products, just very expensive.

  7. These sound amazing! Will have to check them out 🙂
    xoxo

    novelstyle.blogspot.com

  8. How fun that you was at the Olympics. I haven´t tried any Perricone MD product, but I know that I love the Olympics. You must have had the time of your life.

    • You bet! It truly was a once in a lifetime experience. Of course, all of the events were cool. Even better was all of the positive, electric energy in the air. The city was so alive!

  9. seem like a great product!

  10. I don’t think these are available in my country. Great reviews!

  11. How COOL that you were at the Olympics!! I haven’t tried anything from this brand yet as I’m pretty satisfied with my current routine, but this review is great. I’ll definitely look into their products in the future ❤

  12. Wow!!! Great post and great share hun xxxxx

  13. More Than Moisture sounds amazing! I’m with you on this, I wold love any moisturiser with cocoa butter and orange scent~

  14. Great review! I would love to try Dr. Perricone products.

  15. I love the sound of these creams although I’m always wary when they’re heavier or thicker because they might break me out. This happened to me in the past and since then tried to avoid heavy creams. The sound of citrusy smell is nice, I’m somewhat drawn to this type of scents, too. Thanks for sharing your comprehensive review with us Alia and love that pic from the Olympics 😉

    • I completely understand, Donah! My skin is on the dry side, so the thicker creams tend to work for me. Having said that, the Advanced Firming cream is light…and might be worth a try if you ever want to give it a whirl!

  16. Awesome review… I badly need those products!

  17. great review, but the price is so expensive

  18. This one looks promising.. I heard about this too.. But its not available on my country yet 😦

  19. I simply can’t resist the smell of cocoa butter and these products look so promising. I’m not a fan of floral scents either, they make me dizzy but it’s good to know that they aren’t overpowering. But sadly they aren’t available in my country! And how cool is that, you got to be at the Olympics? Hehe it’s always been a dream of mine. God, I’m jealous! 😀

  20. I’ve never tried, but after reading this I’ll go for it.
    I’ve already read about this, but never tried. It’s time to try.

    xxx

    mari

    http://www.ilovegreeninspiration.com

  21. i actually just finished researching a bit about this brand!!! looking forward to trying it out

  22. ive heard so many great things about these products! im thinking of trying them soon’! great review!
    xo,
    Dee Trillo
    http://HauteFrugalista.com

  23. Pingback: Perricone Product Review – Part III | Au Naturel Essence

  24. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

