Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Save Your Peaches!

72 Comments

The peaches have been wonderful this year.  They’re sweet, succulent and overall, plain delicious!  They’re like candy.

Even better, my nine month old son is in love with them.  He loves peaches.  And I love ANY food that he loves.  I’ve learned that skill over the past few months!

With this in mind, I decided it was time to freeze some peaches.  We don’t have a ton of room in our freezer, so I couldn’t freeze a flat of them or anything like that.  But, there is certainly enough room for a few.

Ripe Peaches

Ripe Peaches

Freezing Peaches

Freezing peaches is not quite as simple as slicing them and sticking them into a bag.  I’ve tried that and I found out that they just stick together in a clump or hard-to-use peach mass.

Fortunately, freezing peaches is not difficult.  It takes one or two steps and you’ll have delicious fresh frozen peaches for the long peach-less months ahead.

Blanch Your Peaches

First, you need to blanch your peaches.  Boil a pot of water and put your washed peaches into the boiling pot of water. I left mine in for about 90 seconds.

Blanching the Peaches

Blanching the Peaches

Cool Your Peaches

To cool them quickly, put them into an ice bath.  Use tongs to transfer the peaches from boiling water to the ice bath.

Peaches in the Ice Bath

Peaches in the Ice Bath

Peel the Peaches

At this point, your peaches should be cool enough to handle and you can slip the skins off of them.  It’s really that simple.

Blanched and Skinned Peaches

Blanched and Skinned Peaches

Slice and Tray-Freeze

Slice up your peaches and lay them on a tray.  I lined my tray with parchment paper, but this is not necessary.  You can put your peach slices directly on a pan if that works for you.  Freeze the peaches.  This should take about 3 hours.  I left mine in overnight.

Sliced Peaches, Ready for the Freezer

Sliced Peaches, Ready for the Freezer

Bag Your Peaches

Pack your frozen peach slices into plastic bags.  Make sure you label them bags!  Hide them in your freezer in a place where you’ll find them with glee in the middle of winter!

Fresh Frozen Peach Slices

Fresh Frozen Peach Slices

72 thoughts on “Save Your Peaches!

  1. Thanks for this useful tips!
    too bad there aren’t many peach here 😦 it looks delicious!

  2. Haven’t tried freezing peaches, but what I do is buy the canned variety and pour them (with the syrup) into a bowl and let it all chill in the fridge because I love eating them cold 🙂

  3. peache is one of my fav fruit… great tip. will give it a try

  4. I love going to the farmers market and preparing my fruits and veggies for the week. Great tips!

    http://hustleandglamour.com

  5. wooaaaahh, it look so yummy *drooling*
    can we do something like this with different fruits, like manggo or pear?

    • I definitely think it would work with mangos. I think pears have too much water in then for this technique. You could always make a p ear sauce or a pear- apple sauce.

  6. Ooooh! I’ve never tried a peace before! I don’t think we get them in India. And even if we do, they cost a ton! sigh!

  7. wow!!great tip! i love peaches too! ♥

  8. Thanks to you because you gave me such a simply recipe to do this weekend xD

    neni ❤ (>ω<*)ノ

  9. Thank you so much for these tips, Alia! The town where I live is actually known for its peaches and strawberries, so we still have some peaches left this time of year, but they are going fast. I never really knew how to appropriately freeze them, so these tips are much appreciated.

  10. Ooooh, then do you consume them directly once taken out from the freezer? Or do you bake them etc?

    • LOL! I have a feeling that all I’ll have the patience for is to let them defrost a little bit before I devour them! They’d also be great in a smoothie.

  11. Lovely! I feel like I am learning something new from your blog! Sure it´s nice to have something sweet in store, when the cold winds and snowy months arrives.

  12. They sure do look delicious Alia .. I’d love to try these but we don’t get fresh Peaches here (

    xx Chaicy – Style..A Pastiche!
    GIG

  13. my favourite fruit! peaches! but they don’t really have fresh peaches here, i mostly them canned ones 😦

  14. What a great idea! I always eat them canned ^^ with cream! 😀

    xoxo

    Novelstyle

  15. We love peaches too, but we turn them into a jam 🙂

  16. This looks good. Too bad we only have the canned ones here 😦

  17. Thanks for the tips! I love peaches, so I definitely need to try that. 🙂

  18. Oh yummy, will be picking them up at the market this weekend hehe x

  19. Never tried yet this fruit. I don’t know if this is available here in the Philippines. But this makes my saliva drools! LOL!

  20. I love this idea! I live alone so I save alllll my fruit by freezing it before it can go bad, this is a great new way to try out! ❤

  21. That thing looks delicious! But I think I never saw any peachy here in the Phils! Too bad!

  22. Haha definitely, I love saving in-season fruit for off-seasons 🙂 Thanks for the tips!

  23. Omg!!! I love peaches…. I so am going to try this out. Thanks for sharing 🙂 x

  24. really want some peaches right now. never thought of freezing fruit myself! great tip 🙂

  25. I haven’t tried doing this. Thank you! Those peaches look yummy!

  26. great alternative for snacking! they are delicious, healthy and so simple to make 😀

  27. Look so yummy! But it’s so hard to get peaches in Singapore.

  28. i love peaches. I should have read this before because we can’t find peaches in the supermarket anymore in this time of the year.
    xxx
    mari

  29. These look so yummy! I never knew you could freeze peaches! Toni xxx

  30. I love peaches!! And thanks for the tips :p

  31. I love peaches, come to think of it, I haven’t eaten one in a while. I should buy some soon.

  32. alia, this is great! i just but a whole bunch of peaches that i just realized we probably wont b able to finish before they go bad!! so i will be putting this post to practice!!

  33. Great tips! I’ve never freezed fruits before, but I’ll definitely give this a try. I love peaches.

Leave a Reply

