Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

The Sunshine Award

9 Comments

I am proud to say that I have been nominated for a Sunshine Award.  Blogger awards are a great way to share a little bit about yourself, and to pay it forward by calling attention to other great blogs.  I am tickled pink that Ashlee over at Willfully Disobedient chose to include my blog on her list of nominees!  Thank you, Ashlee!

Sunshine Award

Sunshine Award

The Rules

  • Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  • List 11 bloggers.  They should be bloggers you believe deserve some recognition and a little blogging love!
  • Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer & let all the bloggers know they’ve been nominated. You cannot nominate the blogger that nominated you.

11 Random Facts

  1. I love baking and cooking.
  2. I am a bookworm at heart.
  3. I once jumped out of a plane, willingly!  I was sky diving.
  4. I dream about travelling and always look forward to my next trip.
  5. I have donated my hair twice.  It’s been used to make wigs for cancer patients.
  6. I am slowly removing the chemicals from my family’s daily life.  It’s a slow process.
  7. My favorite workout these days is Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30.
  8. I really want to be fluent in Spanish, but have so far to go!
  9. I plan to perfect my skin care products and one day sell them.
  10. Since I was 10, I have always had a small business venture on the side.
  11. I volunteered at the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics.

Ashlee’s Questions

– If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live and why?
I would like in a place where winter barely brushes up against the freezing mark. I love my city, but I always have a hard time adjusting to the -20 degree days in the winter months.
– Who is your favorite actor/actress? Why?
I love watching Denzel Washington.  He always gives such a convincing and authentic performance.
– What song always cheers you up when you’re sad?
With my little son, I sing a lot of children’s songs.  They all cheer me up – everything from Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star to When you’re Happy and You Know It.
– What is your favorite toy from your childhood?
I loved playing with dolls.
– What is your least favorite thing about being an adult?
There’s a lot of responsibility that comes with being an adult.  Is there a way to pass some of that onto someone else?
– Someone is going to take you out to dinner, any restaurant you like. Where would you go?
My husband and I have a favorite Lebanese restaurant in town.  It’s not a fancy or expensive place.  The food is great and the atmosphere is welcoming.  We head there anytime we have a chance for a treat.
– If you have kids, how did you decide on names?
We chose names that other family members already had.  My son is named after my husband and after my grandfather.
– What is your favorite holiday?
I love Christmas.  It’s a great time for family.  I also love to give gifts!
– What is your favorite book?
Oh boy – I don’t think I could name just one!  I love reading!  I recently read Prisoner of Tehran and I loved it.  I’m not sure if it’s my all time favorite, but I definitely recommend it!
– How much sleep do you absolutely have to have to function?
Since getting pregnant, I’ve learned to function with a lot less sleep than ever before.  I can get by for a few days on 4 hours of sleep.  After that, the wear and tear starts to show!
– What is your favorite way to de-stress?
Working out is the best way for me to relax.  If I can’t do that, a good movie with a bowl of popcorn will do the trick!

11 Questions for my Nominees:

  1. What is your favorite food?
  2. How do you maintain balance in your life?
  3. What is/are your favorite brand(s) of makeup?
  4. Do you speak a second language?  If so, what is it?
  5. Where is your dream vacation?
  6. How do you get healthy when you have a cold or a flu?
  7. What is more important in a beauty product – packaging or price?
  8. What do you love most about blogging?
  9. Have you ever had the chance to meet a follower of your blog that you didn’t know before you started writing your blog?
  10. What is your favorite way to exercise?
  11. Do you have a bucket list and if yes, how much progress have you made on it?

And My 11 Nominees Are:

Thank you again to Ashlee for the nomination!
Congratulations to my 11 nominees! I hope you’ll find some time to answer the questions so I can get to know each of you a little bit better.
If nothing else, please check out these 11 blogs.  They are all full of great information!
9 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. Thank you soo much for nominating me Alia! I’ll be sure to answer every question in my next post 🙂

  2. Thanks a lot lot for nominating us Alia! 🙂
    n Congrats for getting this much deserved award too! 🙂 ❤

  3. Congrats, and thanks for nominating me….such difficult questions!!! hahaha 😀

    xoxo

    Novelstyle

  4. thank you darling for the nomination! 🙂 Will work on this for a post!

Leave a Reply

