Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Black Bean Brownies

45 Comments

As a chocolate lover, I can’t imagine making brownies without some actual chocolate.  In fact, you’ll find a really easy and intensely chocolate recipe for brownies right here on my blog.

And then, that changed.

I found a recipe for Black Bean Brownies on Pinterest and pinned it to my Cleaner Eating board.  The pin links to a recipe on the Dr. Oz site for fudgy black bean brownies.  In my quest for cleaner recipes that still indulge my sweet tooth, I thought I’d give it a try.

Delicious Black Bean Brownies

Delicious Black Bean Brownies

The Recipe:

This is the recipe, as it’s found on the website.

Ingredients
2 cups cooked black beans or canned no-salt-added or low-sodium black beans, drained 
10 Medjool dates
2 tbsp raw almond butter
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup natural, non-alkalized cocoa powder
1 tbsp ground chia seed
Raspberries or other berries for topping

Directions
Preheat oven to 200°F. Blend the black beans, dates, almond butter and vanilla in a food processor or high powered blender until smooth.

Add the remaining ingredients and blend again. Pour into a very lightly oiled 8×8-inch baking pan and bake for 1 1/2 hours.

Cool completely before cutting into small squares. Top with raspberries or other berries.

Recipe courtesy of Dr. Joel Fuhrman.

My Method

I followed the recipe with a couple of minor exceptions.

I omitted the chia seeds because I didn’t have any in the house.  Also, I didn’t make any kind of fruit topping for the brownies.

I blended all of the ingredients as directed.  This actually took quite a bit of time and elbow grease as the mixture was not very liquidy.  However, after some stirring, mashing and blending, I was able to achieve a smooth consistency.  Here’s a shot of the beans, dates, and almond butter before the blending began.

Dates, Black Beans, and Almond Butter

Dates, Black Beans, and Almond Butter Dates and Black Beans

Also, the recipe directs you to “pour” the mixture into the pan.  My mixture was very smooth, but not pourable.  So, I used a spoon to dig it out of the blender and then spread it around to the best of  my ability.

Black Bean Brownies - ready for the oven

Black Bean Brownies – ready for the oven

The Result

After very patiently allowing these brownies to cool for hours, I cut them into 16 squares.  They cut easily and didn’t stick to the pan.  Do they pass for brownies?

Absolutely!

The cocoa powder gives them a great chocolate flavour.

The dates sweeten them nicely.

The black beans lend a nice texture to the treat.

I can definitely tell that they’re not full of sugar.  I like that.

They feel like an indulgence, which is exactly what I want to feel when I eat a brownie.

Black Bean Brownies

Black Bean Brownies

45 thoughts on “Black Bean Brownies

  1. Alia, I’m inviting you to come over and cook us some black bean brownies! This looks so yummy. Now I want my dessert and nice cup of tea. Black Bean brownies are defo healthier alternatives to your usual chocolate ones and I think I like it x Donah GiG

  2. It has been so long since I last had a brownie. I can’t even imagine how they’d taste like hahaha *fail*

    GIG

  3. Can’t remember the last time I visited your blog but I’m glad to see another worth trying recipe here! I love brownies! Thanks for this! 🙂

  4. I love brownies! Never thought they could be made with beans! This looks super interesting and yummy 🙂 GIG LOVE

  5. Looks delicious! I love brownies (& cookies), they’re my comfort food… Can’t imagine though how it taste like when it’s made of beans…
    GIG

  6. hmmmm….they look so yummy! Would really love to try them….will bookmarc this recipe post 🙂
    giglove!

    novelstyleblog.com

  7. this looks so yummy …. i love brownies … will try this recipe soon

  8. hahaha….another great post yet again! this is making me hungry Alia darling! who doesn’t like brownies!!! mmmm…i will try my hand son this, soon! thanks ❤

  9. oh my god that sounds soooo yummy. 😀 I want to try it out 🙂

  10. love chocolate, love your ideas…Christmas time is the perfect time of the year to spend time cooking with and for people we love.
    xxx
    mari

  11. Slurp Slurp!! already drooling over the recipe.. You my lady are the Queen of amazing recipies. every week I’m eager to visit your blog to find something new and innovative yet simple 🙂

    xx Chaicy
    Style.. A Pastiche!
    Giveaway on the Bllog!

  12. wow looks so creamy and delicious!!! that’s an amazing recipe!

  13. Brownies!!!! OMG one of my favourite, mummy long time didnt make this for me d 😦

  14. it looks interesting, a bit different to what we normally do…
    Worth a try as your finish brownies look really delicious

  15. now THIS is definitely something I will make for Christmas!!!! thanks for the idea!

  16. say what?! did i read right??? black bean brownies?!? i’m a latina, so you know i love black beans lol…and brownies too ahaha i will have to try this out!! xo thanks girl

    • LOL! I think you’re gonna like this one, Nina. We eat a lot of black beans in my house, so I was pretty pleased to find a new way to use them! Enjoy!

  17. ive never thought of black beans in a dessert! we eat quite a bit of black beans too lol

    yukluistyle

  18. These look AMAZING I love healthy alternatives when I’m baking!

  19. Oh my gosh! I had NO idea you could make brownies with beans! I will definitely try out this recipe because I have a terrible sweet tooth and would love a healthier alternative 🙂

  20. Oh wow! I would never had thought that this would be good. I’m going to have to give this a try. I”m trying to get the family to start eating healthy. gig

  21. Not a huge fan of chocolate cake but I love brownies. We usually make chocolate cake at home with just cocoa.

  22. this is something different! i really wanna taste it, it looks so good!

  23. this looks so yummy! I am trying to cut back calories and this seems to be a healthier choice!! love it!

Leave a Reply

