Au Naturel Essence

All natural treats for body and soul

Sweet Treats

14 Comments

In my new life as a mommy, I finally have some time (during nap time) to get back to something I love…cooking.  I’ve been busy pulling out old recipes that I used to make all the time and also trying out some new ones.  I have a serious sweet tooth, so I have naturally focused on sweet treats to start!  Here are two of my new favorites:

Rice Pudding

Inspired by my mother-in-law, I have started making rice pudding.  I had no idea it was so easy to make!

1 cup of white rice

2 L of Coconut Milk (Vanilla flavoured)

Orange Rind

1/4 – 1/2 Cup of Brown Sugar (or to taste)

Put everything into a pot and bring to a boil.  Then, lower the heat to med-low and cook until rice is soft.Rice Pudding

I was so pleased that this recipe worked well with a non-dairy milk. The vanilla in the coconut milk gives the pudding a great taste.  I tried a batch using unsweetened coconut milk and I didn’t really care for the taste of the pudding.   I’ve also tried this with a pinch of cinnamon instead of the orange rind.  It changed the taste of the rice pudding completely and I liked it just as much.

Lemon Cream

lemonsI truly love the taste of ice cream.  However, being fairly intolerant to dairy, it’s usually not a good idea for me to indulge in ice cream. Fortunately, I can easily have things like yogurt.  That lead me to try out this recipe for a Lemon Cream last week.

I used:

3 cups of 2% plain yogurt

juice and rind from 2 lemons

3/4 cup sugar

I mixed all of this in a blender.  I then poured the mixture into a shallow pan and put it in the freezer.  When the cream was almost frozen, I put it back into the blender and mixed it until it turned into a hard slush. Finally, I poured this into a container and froze it.  It has turned out to be an excellent low-calorie dessert.  Also, since it doesn’t have any water in it, the mixture does not get icy in the freezer.  I love the texture of this dessert.

14 thoughts on “Sweet Treats

  1. I love rice puddings! When I stopped eating meat and was inspired by Indian cooking, I used to do rice pudding quite often. I love few cardamons pod in it. Great idea for lemon cream, will definitely making it!

  2. Yummy! its no surprise that for someone like you who enjoys making natural beauty products should enjoy cooking. I bet you felt proud of yourself learning new recipes. I love that too. Thanks for the recipes.

  3. I don’t actually have the idea what is rice puddings, but the picture looks yummy. I think I should try this one at home 😀

  4. My mom often used to make rice pudding in the oven. My sister and I used fight over who would get to eat the browned skin on the top. 😀

  5. Yummy!! My mother in law is really good at making rice pudding, we call it ruz bil laban (rice with milk). It is oh so good! I should ask her for the recipe~

  6. Yummy, I havent had rice puding for years! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Beautiful Blogger and Very Inspiring Blogger Awards | Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

